Free Web Hosting Forum
(#1)
Old
Fake Fake is offline
Junior Member
Fake is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Configuration DNS in domain Dot TK - 04-02-2011, 05:15 AM

Hallo everyone.

I have registated e free domain from Dot TK, but I don't know how configure the DNS A, CNAME and MX records for my 000webhost site.

It asks me:
A → Host name →IP address
CNAME → Host name →IP address
MX → IP address

I've seen this topic (http://www.000webhost.com/forum/comm...me-server.html), but it's only about IP and not hostname.

Anyone have solved the same problem?
Thank you for help.


EDIT: After uundreds of tries I think I've solved the problem by myself.

The answer was:
In A record
Host name: mydomain.tk
IP address: my000webhostipaddess+1

Last edited by Fake; 04-02-2011 at 05:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
lobrc's Avatar
lobrc lobrc is offline
Administrator
lobrc will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 5,112
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 04-02-2011, 08:19 AM

You could just use nameservers..?


If you're having problems with your account, please submit a ticket from your members area.

--

Free Script Installation Service
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
Fake Fake is offline
Junior Member
Fake is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default 04-02-2011, 04:40 PM

You are right, it's the simplest way. Thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
ajospace ajospace is offline
Junior Member
ajospace is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default 04-10-2013, 11:19 AM

hey guys..I know this is an old post.. But I have a tk domain too, but i can't get the email to work with my domain eg: ajo@ajospace.tk.

If possible can you please post What values to fill in where? I see that can change the MX record to anything in the cp of DotTK and also here at 000webhost.com. I tried some random values but it never worked.

Regards
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
ShocK's Avatar
ShocK ShocK is offline
Senior Member
ShocK is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 5,366
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Default 04-10-2013, 11:31 AM

Are you using 000webhosts nameservers?
Have you created an email account under Manage Email Accounts in cpanel? Then waited upto 24hrs for it to start working?
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
ajospace ajospace is offline
Junior Member
ajospace is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default 04-10-2013, 03:00 PM

Hi Shock, thanks for responding. yes i'm using the free hosting, so i dont know if that matters. I did see the nameservers addresses, but where do fill that in at dot.tk? Well i did set up a email address, but it dissappeared after 24 hours! I have no idea why. At the Dot.TK end i filled in various values for MX records. For the 'A record' i filled in the hostname(my domain at tk) and then the IP adress i saw in my account manager at 000webhost.com. That got browsers to reach my site on the hosting. But i have no idea what to fill in for the MX record. I tried values like the nameservers' addresses, and vcrazy stuff like pop3.mydomain.tk. It seemed to accept any value that resembled something.mydomain.tk.
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
ShocK's Avatar
ShocK ShocK is offline
Senior Member
ShocK is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 5,366
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Default 04-10-2013, 03:19 PM

You can't use 000webhosts email service using an A record, just if you use their nameservers. Downside of using nameservers is they don't seem to be very reliable at the moment so it's probably better to stick with how you've set it up now.
You can read dot TK setup in my sig if you want to use nameservers though.
Never really looked into dot tk and their email service, they must have a guide somewhere - will look into it.
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
ajospace ajospace is offline
Junior Member
ajospace is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Default 04-10-2013, 03:59 PM

Hi, Ok. Thanks for the info. Of course the option for buying the serverces of 000webhost.com simplyfies all of this. I will check into in more myself though. Just to see if i can get it going. I appreciate your help. If i get it working i will post the settings here. Unless you get there before me
Reply With Quote
(#9)
Old
ShocK's Avatar
ShocK ShocK is offline
Senior Member
ShocK is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 5,366
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UK
Default 04-10-2013, 05:31 PM

Something you can do is use TK mail alias, login at dot tk and click apps, make an alias and use that instead of your own email address.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com