Free Web Hosting Forum
Go Back   Free Web Hosting Forum > 000WebHost Services > Comments and Suggestions
Reload this Page How to setup your domain name without using 000webhost name server?
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
(#1)
Old
chanh's Avatar
chanh chanh is offline
Administrator
chanh is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 2,093
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default How to setup your domain name without using 000webhost name server? - 03-15-2009, 05:34 AM

NOTE: IP+1 rule is NO LONGER REQUIRED, you can use the IP that you see in your cpanel for your A-record

I finally figure it out!

Admin has been saying this all along but I just did not realize what he is saying until today!

Due to security measure 000webhost admin introduce a security measure where your site ip that you see in your cpanel is not the exact ip that you would use when you use external domain name service or redirecting domain name service.

This is very important to remember when you decide not to use 000webhost name servers.

Note: To avoid confusion please ignore this in your cpanel. "You can also point your domain ("A" DNS record) to IP blah"
It might work also but I never tested!


YOU MUST add 1 to your IP that you get from your cpanel.

For example:

on the right hand side under "Account Information"

Server Name server25.000webhost.com
IP Address 216.108.235.136

or under "Account Details Overview"
Website IP address 216.108.235.136

NOTE: the working IP would be: 216.108.235.136 +1

Then you would enter 216.108.235.137 as an IP of your site to your external domain service. Create a A record with this IP.

I tried this technique with several domain name service paid or free and they all work just fine given that you give it enough time to propagate across internet.

Note: This method is using the server IP+1 to calculate the virtual IP for your site on that server which is fixed number and in my opinion is the simplest method.

Any DNS change will take 24-48 hours to propagate!

Enjoy!
Reply With Quote
(#2)
Old
JohnMark JohnMark is offline
Senior Member
JohnMark is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 272
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 03-15-2009, 05:46 AM

Thanks for this, on some domain registers you should not even need the ip address, just name servers, at least Yahoo was this way. Takes about 48 hours to update.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
(#3)
Old
chanh's Avatar
chanh chanh is offline
Administrator
chanh is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 2,093
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default 03-15-2009, 05:56 AM

If you are using 000webhost name servers then it will work just fine but some people for some reason want to keep their existing domain name server and don't want to use 000webhost name server or they want to use their subdomain on 000webhost and only use A record point to 000webhost site and that was where the whole confusion was about and for a long time I did not really understand the issue until I spent a few days track this issue down and finally get it to work to just like the "admin" was describing!

That was interesting to me!
Reply With Quote
(#4)
Old
nbavs's Avatar
nbavs nbavs is offline
Junior Member
nbavs is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 17
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: beijing
Send a message via MSN to nbavs
Default 05-03-2009, 01:08 AM

nice!i would try!
Reply With Quote
(#5)
Old
killroot killroot is offline
Junior Member
killroot is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2009
Default 05-04-2009, 09:34 AM

my server

Server Name server30.000webhost.com
IP Address 216.108.239.70

but, the working IP : 216.108.239.83
Reply With Quote
(#6)
Old
admin admin is offline
Administrator
admin has disabled reputation
 
Posts: 641
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default 05-05-2009, 08:37 AM

Each server has 32 IPs in order to mitigate DDOS attacks (you can use any of these 32 IPs excecpt the main IP). So if DDOS attack strikes we only nullroute 1, attacked, IP and only ~3% of websites goes down instead of whole server.


Aurimas,
Head Admin & CEO
www.000webhost.com
Reply With Quote
(#7)
Old
halimun2's Avatar
halimun2 halimun2 is offline
Member
halimun2 is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 42
Join Date: May 2009
Default 05-06-2009, 05:23 PM

waaw it's very reasonable,
as a free hosting this host still think what that maybe not thinked in other people,
it's very good strategy!!
Reply With Quote
(#8)
Old
sl4y3r1980 sl4y3r1980 is offline
Senior Member
sl4y3r1980 is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 933
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Indonesia
Send a message via Skype™ to sl4y3r1980
Default 05-10-2009, 11:27 AM

@killroot
You have a same IP as my domain account. Here it is :
domain name : sl4ycomtech.uni.cc
IP Address : 216.108.239.70
Server : server30.000webhost.com

@chanh
hmm... where I should put that IP? in the DNS value?


Add my FB profile :
http://facebook.com/eas.inside
and please add a personal message to me that you're a 000webhost.com member, if you wanna add me.

Last edited by sl4y3r1980; 05-22-2009 at 02:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
(#9)
Old
chanh's Avatar
chanh chanh is offline
Administrator
chanh is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 2,093
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default 09-12-2009, 01:57 PM

you put that IP when you define A record at your dns provider.
Reply With Quote
(#10)
Old
outlaw16151 outlaw16151 is offline
Junior Member
outlaw16151 is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 09-21-2009, 01:51 AM

ok i added 1 to the a record thanks i am waiting to see if it works
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com